Anti-Counterfeiting Educational Foundation Elects New Leaders

new board of directors comprised of well-known and respected leaders in the numismatic community has been elected to guide the non-profit Anti-Counterfeiting Educational Foundation, Inc.

John Albanese is the new president. Officers serving with him include Barry Stuppler, vice president; Beth Deisher, secretary; and Ian Russell, treasurer. Also serving as directors are Don Bonser, John Dannreuther, Steve Ivy, David McCarthy, Mary Sauvain, Ute Wartenberg Kagan, Fred Weinberg, Reid Wolf, and Jack Young.

The new board took over the reins of responsibility  Jan. 1.

“Our new ACEF Board is committed to revitalizing the foundation’s mission, which is to assist and provide educational training to law enforcement at all levels who are seeking to combat the flow of counterfeit coins and paper money entering the United States as well as to alert dealers, collectors, and investors in the numismatic marketplace of the deceptive means counterfeiters are employing to entice them to unknowingly purchase fakes, ” Albanese said.

Albanese added: “ACEF can’t do this alone. We need the numismatic community’s support. Our work is funded entirely by donations.”

Originally a task force working under the umbrella of the Industry Council for Tangible Assets in 2017, ACEF became a 501(C)(3) non-profit corporation with Public Charity status in 2018. From the fall of 2019 through December 2023 the Professional Numismatists Guild supplied administrative support to the foundation. Beginning in January 2024 ACEF  is no longer dependent upon another organization for administrative support.

For news and informative articles as well as information on how to donate, visit ACEF’s website:

Leave a Reply